Rutts tankespinn og ME-nyheter

Det meste av det siste innen biomedisinsk forskning på ME

Psychology today 10.08: «The stigma of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome»

Skrevet av tidligere jusprofessor Toni Bernhard:

«I’ve been sick since 2001 when I failed to recover from what appeared to be an acute viral infection. It has left me mostly house-bound, often bed-bound. In effect, I’ve had the flu without the fever for almost ten years: the aches and pains, the dazed sick feeling, the low grade headache, the severe fatigue. It cost me my career as a law professor; it cost me the ability to be active in the lives of my children and grandchildren.

Because I meet the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) case definition, I’ve been given the diagnosis, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS). Although there have been some promising developments (a possible connection to a retrovirusthe presence of unique proteins in the spinal fluid of CFS patients), as of this writing, there’s no proven cause and no cure. This is not surprising, given that so little money is allocated for research into this debilitating illness. Why? One reason is the absurd name. As others have pointed out, calling it, «Chronic Fatigue Syndrome,» is like calling Emphysema, «Chronic Cough Syndrome,» or Alzheimer’s, «Chronic Forgetfulness Syndrome.»»

Les hele artikkelen HER

Les på norsk med Google Translater HER

One response to “Psychology today 10.08: «The stigma of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome»

  1. Norefall 11.04.11, kl. 10:27

    Som jeg skulle sagt det selv.

Legg igjen en kommentar

